Resolutions

The year is 2010.  The weather is fresh.  Already the news is full of doubleplusungood, from earthquake-stricken Haiti to the bumbling Democratic Party of Massachusetts.

Urbandictionary defines blog as “a meandering, blatantly uninteresting online diary that gives the author the illusion that people are interested in their stupid, pathetic life.”  Truer words were never said!  Wherever the word “blog” appears on this site I seriously urge the reader to substitute, in their in-head reading voice, that string of words.

But I digress.

Today was a good day in the life of David Z!  It was a good day because I parked my car illegally twice, yes twice, in notoriously traffic cop-happy Iowa City and dodged getting a ticket (boy I’ll feel dumb when this post blocks my nomination to the Supreme Court 40 years from now).  It was also good because I took a Biology exam and actually knew some of the answers.  Guess what? *spoiler alert for Iowa students taking the makeup Biology II exam* A vicariance event will result in homologous mappings of gene sequences vs. geography among different lineages!  Suck on that, multiple choice question no. 8.  *end spoiler*

Actually, what I really wanted to say before I crawl into my ice-cold sheets (I hate how sheets are cold in winter) is this: I’m a little late to the party, but I finally made some resolutions for 2010. The fact that I have no idea where my list of 2009 resolutions is should put a limp in my optimism for this new list, yet said optimism seems all but unsuppressable.  (Syntax malfunction much?)  I feel very excited about these goals.  They are top secret.  However, a numbered list is always apropos.

10.
9.
8.
7.
6.
5.
4.
3.
2.
1.

That felt good.

Leave a Reply

